'Region' here refers to the government's administrative category. From 1974 until the mid-1990s its full name was Standard Statistical Region; it was then replaced by Government Office Region. Some major boundary changes were introduced with the new classification.

Government Office Regions for England and Wales are: North East, North West, Yorkshire and Humberside, East Midlands, West Midlands, East of England, London, South East, South West and Wales. For more information see the Geography Training Module or look at this map.

Our analysis uses the Government Office Region boundaries. Addresses from the 1991 Census have been reclassified to these, to make the 1991 data and the 2001 data geographically compatible.